This is my 10 gallon, gravity fed brew rig. It is a King Kooker that I bought from amazon last year. I modified it by raising the 2nd tier burner so that I can heat my strike water and transfer it to the mash tun without lifting it or using a pump.

Picture
10 gallon brew system
Hopfiend
11/2/2013 09:32:36 am

I like your setup and may emulate it as it looks like it would work for me. I have looked at the King Kooker that you have and have heard many brewers say they liked it and the cost was right, but that it seemed to be a bit 'cheap'. Have you had good luck with it? Is it sturdy and do the burners work well? Was it easy to raise the 2nd tier? Any response would be appreciated.

Reply
Roy Stephens
11/2/2013 10:54:34 am

Thanks for the reply!

I love the King Kooker and would not hesitate to buy it again! The width of the metal is a little thin but I wouldn't call it cheap. It wasn't hard to raise it at all. As long as you have basic woodworking skills it won't be a problem. I just built a platform with 1/2 inch plywood and screwed it to the metal.

I always thought that I would want a Rims or herms but after brewing with this system, I really don't need to. I probably won't ever buy a pump either.

I hope this helps you!

Reply
Roy Stephens
11/2/2013 10:56:54 am

I'll see if I can post some pictures of the "build" tonight. Btw, I've seen the King Kooker as low as $125 with free shipping on amazon! It's a great buy.

Reply
Hopfiend
11/3/2013 01:04:30 am

Appreciate the feedback. Sounds like raising the 2nd tier will be pretty simple. I am going to track one of these down and get it. Currently, the lowest I can find it is $159 at Cabela's. By the way, do the burners regulate easily - can the flame be adjusted adequatly? I also heard someone mention that the jet burner goes through propane very quickly - yes/no? Thanks again. I look forward to getting my system set up.

Reply
Roy Stephens
11/3/2013 04:23:08 am

The regulator works great. Yes, the jet burner will burn thru propane quickly if you let it. I turn it down to a low setting once I get the wort to a boil so it's not an issue. I usually take my propane tank to be refilled instead of swapping them so I save a lot of money doing it that way.

Reply
Hopfiend
11/4/2013 07:54:50 am

Thanks for the additional information. I feel pretty good now about grabbing one of these and getting this set up. Just laid out the location in my garage last night for the unit! Look forward to getting going with my first All-Grain batch.

Reply



Leave a Reply.